Art, Light, and a Cluttered Studio

I am a 29-year-old artist from Bergen, Norway. Before I went to Bergen National Academy of the Art, I was mainly a painter. But during my time at the Academy,  I became fascinated by video art and installations.

Now I have worked three years on my own after I finished my BA degree. In a sense, my work seems to be more and more drawn back to canvas and painting again, but with a different twist; I use my projector as paint, so to speak, and my computer as a brush.

Video art and painting are perhaps two different approaches to art, but they share the same artistic purpose. My art have hints of both, combining elements from each sphere to breathe new air into the underlying work process, the work itself, as well as the audience’s experience.

My residency in June lasts for five week. I will work with a project I have called “Art, Light, and a Cluttered Studio”, and I plan to fill up my studio with lots of collected objects from different flee markets as well as sketches I bring with me to Turku. The collection of things will be shaped into form through video editing inspired by spontaneous ideas that pop into my head during the stay.

During the first two weeks, I will fill up the studio. After that, I plan to edit a video that highlights and in a certain sense shapes the collection of things in the studio with the help of a projector. The light from the projector will sort out parts inside the messy studio and thus help to decide the audience’s focus as well as suggesting different shapes and a certain order in the studio’s chaos. The studio itself thus alludes a walk inside the mind of an artist while the light from the projector signifies the process of interpreting and giving meaning to art.

For more info about my previous work, visit www.http://gurogomo.org